Meet Ben the plateosaurus 

/ the Plateo team

Owner

/ the Plateo team

The Belgian palaeontologists Pascal Godefroit (Museum) and Koen Stein (VUB) have the support of an entire team of passionate assistants who take care of Ben’s well-being. Stéphane Berton and Aldo Impens, however, have the most important task of all: to release Ben from his gangue of sediment. photo: Aldo Impens, Stéphane Berton, Victor Calle, Jonica dos Remedios, Pascal Godefroit

Contact the project holder
This project was ended 21/05/2017

Help Ben the plateosaurus move into the Dinosaur Gallery of the Museum of Natural Sciences. It has been over 100 years since a new original dinosaur fossil has been displayed in Brussels. Coming in at 210 million years old, Ben will be the oldest ‘Brussels sprout’.

Support this unique project and join the Plateoteam!

For the first time in over a century, the Dinosaur Gallery of the Museum of Natural Sciences will add a new, original dinosaur fossil to its collection. Ben was entrusted to our care by the town of Frick in Switzerland. We have received a gigantic 200-piece dinosaur puzzle from them. It’s now up to us to release him from his repository of sediment and plaster so we can present him to you in December.

The palaeontological work, which is a painstaking process, started in May 2016. Ben is gradually starting to reveal some of his secrets to us.  What is very unusual for an original fossil is that its excellent constitution will allow us to exhibit it outside a display case.

But we need your help, so that thousands of visitors will soon be able to admire Ben. We are looking for 25,000 euro to fund the cost of exhibiting Ben: the assembly and installation on a tailor-made metallic structure, the construction of a podium and development of educative support.

Lend your support for this project: by sharing information about it on social media, talking about it to family and friends, in your children’s class, at work! And above all... join the Plateoteam!

All members will receive a certificate (you decide by the end of May which name to put on it) and a unique souvenir of their encounter with Ben the plateosaurus.

  • Plateofriend - €10 -You like dinosaurs and want to welcome Ben to Brussels. Receive a €1 discount voucher (max 4 pers.)
  • Plateofan - €50 -You are mad about dinosaurs. Receive a unique pro digital photo on Photo fan day (16/12) !
  • Plateogeek - €100 - Be the first to meet Ben! Join us for the VIP viewing (14/12 x2 pers.).
  • Plateophile - €250 - Dinosaurs hold absolutely no secrets whatsoever for you!  Enjoy a kid’s animation (16 or 23/09x5 pers.) or a visit behind the scenes (10/06 x2 pers.) and attend our VIP event.
  • Plateologist - €500 - If you cannot be a palaeontologist, why not become a plateologist! Enjoy a kid’s animation (16 or 23/09 x5 pers.) or receive 2 year passes to the Museum or a visit behind the scenes (x 15 pers.) or a school formula for your children’s class and also receive an invitation to our VIP event.
  • Plateo(wo)man - €1,500You are the Plateo team’s super hero!  Celebrate this with 14 of your friends or co-workers in a palaeontological lab. Cocktails are on us (date to be determined). You will also receive an invitation to our VIP event and 2 year passes to the Museum.
  • Ambassador - €2,400 and more - Contact us by e-mail so we can develop a tailor-made offer with you (private event in our museum or other option).

Support us here or on the account of the Museum (BE 09 6792 0058 2357) with this communication: Plateoteam + your email

And follow us on Facebook and/or subscribe to our newsletter so you won't miss a thing!

Thank you and see you soon!
Ben and the Plateo team

 

(This text was translated by Ubiqus Belgium, Growfunding’s language service provider)

Rencontrez Ben, le platéosaure 

/ la Plateoteam

Owner

/ la Plateoteam

Derrière les paléontologues belges Pascal Godefroit (Muséum) et Koen Stein (VUB), toute une équipe de passionnés est aux petits soins pour Ben. Et c’est à Stéphane Berton et Aldo Impens, que revient la mission la plus importante : sortir Ben de sa gangue de sédiments. photo: Aldo Impens, Stéphane Berton, Victor Calle, Jonica dos Remedios, Pascal Godefroit

Contacter le porteur du projet
Ce projet s'est terminé le 21/05/2017

Aidez Ben le platéosaure à s’installer dans la Galerie des Dinosaures du Muséum des Sciences naturelles. Pour la première fois depuis 100 ans, nous allons exposer un nouveau fossile original à Bruxelles. Ben, âgé de 210 millions d’années, sera le plus vieux des Bruxellois.

Soutenez ce projet unique et rejoignez la Plateoteam !

Pour la première fois depuis 100 ans, la Galerie des Dinosaures du Muséum des Sciences naturelles accueillera, en décembre, un nouveau fossile authentique de dinosaureBen nous a été confié par la ville de Frick en Suisse. C’est un véritable Dino-Puzzle géant de 200 pièces. Nous sommes en train de l’extraire de sa gangue de sédiments et de plâtre pour vous le présenter en décembre.

Le minutieux travail paléontologique a commencé en mai 2016. Ben commence à nous livrer ses secrets. Fait rare pour un fossile original, son admirable constitution permettra de l’exposer hors vitrine.

Pour que des milliers de visiteurs puissent très bientôt l’admirer, nous avons besoin de votre aide. Nous cherchons encore 25.000 euros pour financer les coûts d’exposition : assemblage et mise en espace sur une armature métallique faite sur mesure, construction d’un podium, développement de matériel pédagogique…

Soutenez ce projet : en le faisant connaître sur les réseaux sociaux, auprès de vos proches, dans la classe de vos enfants, sur votre lieu de travail ! Et surtout…  Rejoignez la Plateoteam !

Tous les membres recevront un diplôme (vous choisirez vous-même fin mai le nom à y faire figurer) et garderont un souvenir unique de leur rencontre avec Ben, le platéosaure.

  • Plateofriend - 10€Vous aimez les dinos et voulez souhaiter la bienvenue à Ben. Recevez 1 bon de réduction de -1€ (max 4 pers.)
  • Plateofan – 50€Vous êtes passionnés de dino. Recevez une photo digitale pro unique lors du Photofanday (16/12) !
  • Plateogeek – 100€ - Soyez le premier à rencontrer Ben ! Rejoignez-nous pour l’avant-première VIP (14/-12 x2 pers.).
  • Plateophile – 250€ - Les dinos n’ont plus de secret pour vous. Profitez d’une animation kid (16 ou 23/09 x 5 pers.) ou d’une visite en coulisses (10/06 x2 pers.) et de la soirée VIP.
  • Plateologue – 500€ - A défaut d’être paléontologue, devenez Plateologue ! Profitez d’une animation kid (16 ou 23/09  x 5 pers.) et de 2 abonnements annuels au Muséum ou d’une visite en coulisses (x15 pers.), ou une formule école pour la classe de vos enfants, une invitation à la soirée VIP.
  • Plateo(wo)man – 1500€ -Vous êtes le super héros de la Plateoteam !!  Fêtez cela avec 14 de vos amis ou collaborateurs dans les coulisses du laboratoire de paléontologie, nous vous offrons le cocktail (date à convenir). Recevez aussi une invitation pour la soirée VIP et 2 abonnements annuels au Muséum.
  • Ambassadeur – 2400€ et plus - Contactez-nous par mail pour que nous élaborions ensemble une offre sur mesure (event privé dans nos salles ou autre).

Soutenez le projet ici ou effectuez un virement sur le compte du Muséum (BE 09 6792 0058 2357) avec la communication: "Plateoteam + votre adresse email
Et pour ne rien manquer de nos activités, suivez-nous sur Facebook et/ou abonnez-vous à notre newsletter.

Un grand merci et à très vite !
Ben et la Plateoteam